Assessment » Assessment


As mandated by the Texas Education Agency, students in grades 3 through 12 are required to take part in the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness program.

STAAR for grades 3 through 8 will continue to assess the same subjects that were assessed by Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills.
Students first enrolled in grade 9 or below in the 2011–12 school year are required to take the STAAR end-of-course assessments for courses in which they are enrolled as part of their graduation requirements. Those students no longer take TAKS.

The STAAR EOC assessments test high school students for college readiness and produce performance labels that indicate a student’s mastery of the course’s standards. The end-of-course tests assess the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for a given course. In addition to passing courses, a score of satisfactory or above is required to graduate.
Resources for Parents and Students

State Testing Calendar

The Texas Education Agency publishes a calendar of the various state assessments that are administered throughout the school year. This calendar includes the test, grade level, subject area, and date of each administration.

The revised calendar is posted to the Texas Education Agency’s (TEA) website at
STAAR Resources

In Spring of 2012, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS). The STAAR program includes annual assessments for grades 3–8 in reading and mathematics; assessments in writing at grades 4 and 7; in science at grades 5 and 8; and in social studies at grade 8; and end-of-course assessments (EOCs) for English I, English II, Algebra I, Biology and U.S History.
The Texas Education Agency posts resources on their website to provide opportunities for familiarization of the design and format of the STAAR program. These resources are found at
Student Success Initiative (SSI)

Students in Fifth grade and Eighth grade are required by the State of Texas to pass certain sections of the STAAR tests in order to advance to the next grade level. To learn more about the student success initiative (SSI) visit the Texas Education Agency website at There you will find resources such as the SSI manual and brochures regarding the initiative.

Graduation Testing Requirements

Students who began the 9th grade for the first time in 2011-2012 or later must take the STAAR End-of-Course exams in English I, English II, Algebra, Biology, and U.S. History and pass them in order to graduate.